The Navodaya Club

The Social Network of Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya

The Blog Post New Entry

National Youth Parliament Competition Winner !

Posted by Mr. Navodaya on August 7, 2011 at 2:20 PM

The Winner of 14th National Youth Parliament Competition, Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Mysore, Karnataka received the NEHRU RUNNING SHIELD AND TROPHY For Standing First at The National Level. The Award Distribution Ceremony as well as an restage of the Award Winning Mock Parliament was held on 22nd July, 2011 in Mavalankar Auditorium, New Delhi.

National Youth Parliament Competition are Organized by Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Govt of India for Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas, Kendriya Vidyalayas, Delhi Schools and Various Colleges and Universities. Year 2010-11 was the 14th National Youth Parliament Competition for Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas.




I. "Nehru Running Shield" and Trophy for standing First at National Level

     Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Mysore, Karnataka.


II. Trophy for standing First in respective regions

S.No.                     Name of Vidyalayas                              Region

1.  Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Gajapati, Orissa               Bhopal

2.  Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Saran, Bihar                     Patna  

3.  Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Sirsa, Haryana                 Jaipur    

4.  Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Gonda, Uttar Pradesh       Lucknow    

5.  Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Kapurthala, Punjab           Chandigarh  

6.  Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Hingoli, Maharashtra         Pune  

7.  Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Phek, Nagaland                Shillong

Detailed Winner List of Paricipating Students

Objective of Youth Parliament Competition by Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs:

With a view to strengthening the roots of democracy, inculcate healthy habits of discipline, tolerance of the views of others and to enable the student community to  know something about the working of Parliament, the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs have decided in consultation with the Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti to introduce a scheme of National Youth Parliament competition in Navodaya Vidyalayas throughout the country and to hold annually competition of ‘Youth Parliament’ among the Navodaya Vidyalayas.

Outline of the Scheme:

The Competitions is held in two phases - first at Regional level and then at National level. The Competitions at regional  level is held among the Navodaya Vidyalayas of the respective regions as are sponsored for the Competition by the Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti from that region. This is conducted under the supervision of Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti authorities. The Competition at National level is held among the Navodaya Vidyalayas which stand first in their respective regions in the regional level competitions. Based on the evaluation conducted by a team of judges consisting of an MP/Ex-MP, Officer of the Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti and Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs at the National level a merit list to declare national winners are drawn.

The Youth Parliament Initiative by Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs is a commendable step towards making the youth aware of the parliamentary system in the country. If your Navodaya Vidyalaya has been organising Youth Parliaments, post your experiences and suggestions below, If your school does not have it yet, mention about it to your Principal and You might be the National Winner of 15th National Youth Parliament Competition !
Sources: Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs

Categories: I love Navodaya, Competitions and Prizes

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In